Gloriously Imperfect

A friend once told me I like to “hot rod” things–a Tom Wolfe-ian phrase for souping up an existing object. By that standard, my little house here in Greensboro is the ultimate hot rod. A couple of months ago I sent photos of it along with a first-person essay to O.Henry Magazine. To my delight, they accepted the essay and sent photographer John Gessner to immortalize my house. The results are visible in the August issue of O.Henry, which is available in print for free just about everywhere and is also online.

John Gessner photographing my house

John Gessner photographing my house

If you run into my sister Liz, she’ll probably have a bunch of copies in her bag—that’s how it was last night when we strolled downtown Greensboro for First Friday. She showed the article to everyone she met (and she knows a lot of people!) while I stood to the side, slightly embarrassed and mostly thrilled. Thank you, Liz, for believing in me, bringing me to Greensboro, and carrying me in your handbag.

Click here to view a PDF of the article (be patient: it loads slowly). Or go to O.Henry Magazine online and view pages 56-61 of the August issue.

Here are a few of my own shots, just for fun.

Front hall

Front hall

Kuan Yin mirror

Kuan Yin mirror

Hallway altar

Hallway altar

Mantel detail

Mantel detail

Bedroom detail

Bedroom detail

2 thoughts on “Gloriously Imperfect

  1. What a great piece, Mary! I saw and loved your house when your proud sister had a group of old friends there for dinner last year, though I doubt you remember me in particular. But I remember YOU and your article resonates strongly. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

